According to various sources, the alcohol in White Claw Hard Seltzer comes from fermented sugars derived from malted gluten-free grains. However, a spokesperson for White Claw has also stated that the alcohol is "a pure spirit base, five times distilled from corn, which is gluten-free". The ingredients listed on the White Claw website include "alcohol" without specifying the source. It is important to note that White Claw is not a beer or malt beverage, but rather an alcoholic seltzer water beverage.