Islamic dietary laws define which foods are halal (permissible) and which are haram (forbidden) . The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to Islamic prophet Muhammad ("Sunnah") . Forbidden food substances include alcohol, pork, carrion, the meat of carnivores, and animals that died due to illness, injury, stunning, poisoning, or slaughtering not in the name of God. Here is a list of halal and haram food items in Islam:
Halal food items:
- Meat slaughtered under Islamic laws and principles
- Fish and other marine animals (not required to be slaughtered)
- Fruits and vegetables
- Dairy products (excluding cheese made from non-halal animal-derived)
- All poultry
- All farm animals
- Sheep
- Goats
- Camels
Haram food items:
- Animal meat not slaughtered following the methods prescribed in the Quran and Sunnah
- Pork or pork by-products
- Alcohol
- Blood
- Foods that may contain any combination of the aspic, alcoholic pastries, etc.
- Animals that have been slaughtered or dedicated to in the name of people other than Allah
It is important to note that Muslims are not allowed to consume foods or beverages that are haram, or forbidden. Foods that carry a halal symbol on their packaging have been approved by an agency and are certified to be free of any forbidden components or ingredients.