Pectin is a naturally occurring soluble fiber (polysaccharide) found in the cell walls of most fruits and vegetables. It is a thickener and stabilizer that helps jams, jellies, and fruit preserves set. When heated with sugar and acid, pectin forms a mesh that traps liquid, and as it cools, it sets and suspends pieces of fruit. Certain fruits like apples, quince, currants, cranberries, grapes, and citrus naturally contain high levels of pectin, while other fruits like strawberries, peaches, sour cherries, rhubarb, tomatoes, and pears have much lower pectin levels. Commercially produced pectin is a white-to-light-brown powder, produced from citrus fruits for use as an edible gelling agent, especially in jams and jellies, dessert fillings, medications, and sweets; and as a food stabilizer in fruit juices and milk drinks, and as a source of dietary fiber. Pectin is also used as a thickener in cooking and baking. It is sometimes used to make medicine, as it binds substances in the intestines and adds bulk to the stools, and it might also reduce how much cholesterol the body absorbs from foods. Pectin is a vegan ingredient that comes from citrus peels, whereas gelatin is animal-based.