Gelatin is a translucent, colorless, flavorless food ingredient that is commonly derived from collagen taken from animal body parts. It is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water, usually from cows or pigs. Gelatin is classified as a hydrogel and is nearly tasteless and odorless with a colorless or slightly yellow appearance. It is transparent and brittle, and it can come as sheets, flakes, or as a powder. Polar solvents like hot water, glycerol, and acetic acid can dissolve gelatin, but it is insoluble in organic solvents like alcohol. Gelatin absorbs 5–10 times its weight in water to form a gel. The gel formed by gelatin can be melted by reheating, and it has an increasing viscosity under stress (thixotropic) .
Gelatin is used in a variety of products, including food, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. It is used as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O); in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts; on photographic film; and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules, and it is sometimes used to assist in “clearing” wines. Gelatin is also used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics. In addition, it is used in some medical applications, such as wound dressings and drug capsules.
Gelatin is not vegan, but there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin,” but it is vegan. It is derived from a type of seaweed. Kosher gelatin is usually made from a fish source. Gelatin is also non-GMO, cholesterol-free, and non-allergenic, meaning it complies with dietary restrictions.