Kosher food is any food or drink that Jewish dietary laws allow a person to eat. The laws of kashrut apply to food derived from living creatures and kosher foods are restricted to certain types of animals. The laws divide foods into three categories: meat, dairy, and pareve (neither meat nor dairy). Meat products are those that comprise or contain kosher meat, such as beef, lamb, or venison, kosher poultry such as chicken, goose, duck, or turkey, or derivatives of meat, such as animal gelatin. Dairy products are those which contain milk or any derivatives such as butter or cheese. Non-dairy products that are processed on equipment used for milk or milk-derived products are also considered as belonging to this category. Pareve foods include fish, eggs from permitted birds, produce, grains, fruit, and other edible plants. They remain pareve if they are not mixed with or processed using equipment that is used for any meat or dairy products. Kosher food also distinguishes between meat and dairy products, and separate equipment for the storage and preparation of meat-based and dairy-based foods is used in order for food to be considered kosher. Certification ensures that foods have met all necessary requirements to be deemed kosher.